Go Back   tbirdforum.com > Thunderbird Model Years > Flair Birds [1964-1966]
Register Garage FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Flair Birds [1964-1966] You have a Fourth Generation Bird or just have some questions about them? Then this forum is for you, check it out.

Blown head gasket?

This is a discussion on Blown head gasket? within the Flair Birds [1964-1966] forums, part of the Thunderbird Model Years category; I own a '65 convertible t-bird with a stock 390 and no, I'm not a mechanic. Lately the car has ...

LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)   IP: 67.190.18.110
Old 03-07-2005, 12:28 PM

Engr_Jim is on a distinguished road
Exclamation Blown head gasket?

I own a '65 convertible t-bird with a stock 390 and no, I'm not a mechanic. Lately the car has started to overheat more and I've got some two badly fouled plugs. I see no signs of antifreeze/oil cross-contamination. I've flushed the radiator. I also have poor power and slow acceleration.

My question is partly about the current problem and partly deciding how far I should go with the engine - that has never been rebuilt.

I can certainly run some compression checks but will that isolate a blown head gasket vs something more serious in the head? I also wondered what happens if I go to the trouble of replacing the head gaskets with the engine in place and still have poor compreesion because of either a head crack or simply worn out rings - and then need to pull the engine for a rebuild? I think I'd be up for tearing into the head but not pulling the engine (just not sure) as I'd need to then get it to a shop for rebuilding, etc.

Advice?
Recommendations?
Just wanna poke fun at my extensive knowledge?

All welcome,
tbirdjim in Denver
  #2 (permalink)   IP: 67.182.145.214
Old 03-07-2005, 01:06 PM
4-5-6-birdman is on a distinguished road
Lots of possibilities...let's start here..