Go Back   tbirdforum.com > Thunderbird Model Years > Bullet Birds [1961-1963]

Bullet Birds [1961-1963] These Bullet Birds are definitely a collector's car, so why don't you show yours off in this forum or just ask members about them?

63 power steering noise

This is a discussion on 63 power steering noise within the Bullet Birds [1961-1963] forums, part of the Thunderbird Model Years category; Hello All, This is my first time on this forum and I am glad to have found you guys. Have ...

LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)   IP: 205.201.193.70
Old 08-30-2010, 09:00 PM

marcmata is on a distinguished road
63 power steering noise

Hello All,

This is my first time on this forum and I am glad to have found you guys. Have a 63 Tbird and when I turn the steering wheel the power steering pump makes a lot of noise. When I bought it the seller told me the pump was recently changed out. I am looking for a little help to determine what the issue is and if it can be fixed or is the pump need replacing.

Thank you,
Marc
  #2 (permalink)   IP: 74.170.200.2
Old 09-06-2010, 10:48 PM
kc5mhb is on a distinguished road
If it makes you feel any better, the power steering pump in my recently acquired '63 is doing the same. I took the reservoir cover off (careful the spring, washer and especially the wing nut - mine fell in and I had to fish it out with my fingers) and noted there is a filter inside. Also I'm not sure of the proper level but mine appeared to be getting air in the pump as the fluid was foaming. I added some fluid to it and it got a little better but I think that it has air in the lines and it will take time to get that out. I'm planning on changing out the fluid and filter and going from there. As soon as my parts manuals and shop manual come in I'll know a little more about the car.
*SCT X3 Custom Tune
*GT Take-Off Front Bumper with CDC Chin Spoiler and GT Grill with Fogs
*GT Take-Off True Dual Exhaust System