tbirdforum.com

tbirdforum.com (https://www.tbirdforum.com/forums/)
-   Early Birds [1955-1957] (https://www.tbirdforum.com/forums/early-birds-1955-1957/)
-   -   Gas Gauge Fix (https://www.tbirdforum.com/forums/early-birds-1955-1957/3971-gas-gauge-fix.html)

gbhrps 09-06-2013 10:09 PM

Gas Gauge Fix

Gentlemen,

After several frustrating years with a intermittent operating fuel gauge, I decided to correct the situation on my 55 small bird. I’m a DIYer/backyard mechanic and the following procedures worked for me. Others may have a better procedure, and I invite them to jump in with corrections or better ideas.

Research on the problem lead me to an online tech article that helped to narrow down the problem. Basically the system fix comes down to 3 areas, the sending unit, the dash gauge, and the wiring.

Starting with the tank sending unit is the easiest. Remove the cover in the trunk floor to get to the sending unit. With the ignition on, short the sending gauge center connection to ground. If the gas gauge sweeps to full, your gauge is not the problem, nor is the wiring to the gauge. Be sure to immediately turn the ignition off to prevent burning out the gauge.

The next step is to make sure that the gas tank sending unit is grounded. Add a jumper wire from the mounting plate of the sending unit to a suitable ground in the trunk, and again turn on the ignition. If the gauge now works, you need only to add a short ground wire from any mounting screw of the sending unit, to the screw that holds the cover for the sending unit to the trunk floor.

If the gauge still doesn’t work, pull the sending unit from the tank. Connect a multimeter set for resistance across its center wiring connection and the mounting plate of the sending unit. As you sweep the float up and down, the readings should change. If they don’t, you need a new sending unit.